1998 - The South African Model UN (formerly known as the Model United Nations General Assembly Competition for South African High Schools) is revived by Education Africa and the United Nations under the direction of UNESCO.

1999 - Teams from a South African delegation are placed first and second at the first international debating competition in Austria, held at the United Nations headquarters in Vienna.

2000 - The United Nations Association of the National Capital area presented Education Africa with a prestigious Blue Ribbon Award at a ceremony in Washington DC. The Award recognises programme excellence in furthering the ideals of the United Nations.

2001 - Kwa-Zulu Natal becomes the first provincial team to win the national competition for two successive years. At the international competition, South Africa competed against 180 teams, finishing in the top 13 and receiving a Merit Award for teamwork.

2002 - Participation in the provincial debates was extended to include over 300 participating schools.

2003 - Provincial participation increased to over 450 schools. The international delegation participated in the National High Schools United Nations in New York and did exceptionally well to share second place with seven other teams.

2004 - SAMUN has become a fixture in many school calendars, and over 500 schools are now participating at provincial level.

2005 - At the Yale Model UN Conference in Newhaven, USA, the South African team received two Outstanding Delegate Awards and three Honourable mentions.

2006 - The National Conference is hosted in Cape Town. Learners had the privilege of spending a night on Robben Island engaging with the Deputy Chief Justice of South Africa, Justice Dikgang Moseneke.

2007 - The Cape Town National conference opens it doors to international schools, with teams participating from UK, USA, Kenya and Ethiopia.

2008 - South Africa is selected to chair the Security Council and the international delegation is hosted by Ambassador Khumalo, President of the UN Security Council.

2009 - The second placed Provincial Teams are awarded the opportunity to participate in Robben Island's Spring School. The South African delegation participating in the Cornell University Model UN wins the Best Small Delegation third year running and the team gets twelve individual awards.
    Copyright 2019 The South African Model UN. All Rights Reserved
Designed and Developed by Fyre Interactive